World Series of Poker Europe

World Series of Poker Europe

The inaugural World Series of Poker Europe (WSOP) was held in 2007 in London, in a bid to expand the World Series of Poker-branded tournaments beyond the United States – where the bracelet events of the WSOP have been held annually in Las Vegas since 1970.

Harrah’s Casinos bought the rights to the World Series of Poker label in 2004 and followed this quickly with the purchase of London Club International (LCI). Three casinos were under the operation of LCI at the time – Fifty, Leicester Square, and The Sportsman. With these three casinos, Harrah’s was able to expand the WSOP brand into the European market.

European casinos typically have a different atmosphere to those in the United States, and they boast a much longer history. Initially, it was feared that Europeans might not take readily to the WSOP format. The massive success of the inaugural tournament, which showcased professional poker players from all over Europe, proved otherwise, and the popularity of the WSOPE looks likely to continue growing.

2007 World Series of Poker Europe

The 2007 WSOPE event was won by Annette Obrestad from Norway. Included in Obrestad’s opponents were the legendary poker players Doyle Brunson, Phil Hellmuth and Johnny Chan. Obrestad’s victory won her a total of £1 million (about US$2,013,102).

The 2008 World Series of Poker Europe is scheduled to be held in London, from 19 September to 1 October. It’s expected to draw an even bigger field than the previous year’s series.