World Poker Tour

The World Poker Tour (WPT) is a series of televised Texas Hold ’em poker tournaments, played mostly in the United States. It was started in 2002 by television producer Steven Lipscomb, who now serves as CEO of the company that controls the Tour, and is syndicated internationally.

In 2003, the first season of the World Tour of Poker culminated with the WPT Championship at the Bellagio Casino in Las Vegas. It aired on US cable television, on the Travel Channel – which continued to air the show up to 2007. In 2004, NBC also aired a "Battle Of Champions" tournament in the Tour.

In March 2008, GSN took over the series, first airing the Mirage Poker Showdown. The show is co-hosted by World Series of Poker winner Mike Sexton, and actor Vince Van Patten.

The World Tour of Poker remains among the highest-rated TV programs on US cable. It has made a huge contribution to the popularity of Texas Hold ’em, both across the United States and worldwide.

World Poker Tour Winners

Using a point system, a single winner is identified for each World Poker Tour season. So far, the winners have been

  • Season 1: Howard Lederer
  • Season 2: Erick Lindgren
  • Season 3: Daniel Negreanu
  • Season 4: Gavin Smith
  • Season 5: J. C. Tran

Ladies’ World Poker Tour

In January 2008, the WPT announced the introduction of a set of Texas Hold ’em tournaments for women, featuring five events with buy-ins from $300 to $1,500. The final table of the last event is due to be televised.